My Life in Horror 1982 Part 1 – Poltergeist

e7fd99ed2ccba94abcab3ca54e4c8eaf

I decided to ask the good people of Twitter to vote for two films from every year I’ve aimlessly been wandering the planet. I set up two polls and I’d watch and review the winner of each from 1981 hopefully right through until the current day. I was hoping to fill the polls with either classic films, ones I’d never seen or ones I’d not watched for a long time. So far the picks were great you can read 1981 winners An American Werewolf In London and The Beyond by clicking their links! But any way now it was time to watch the first winner Poltergeist…………….

a4e624ab2a7a85ab67855c9810eb4aea

Director – Tobe Hooper

Writers – Steven Spielberg, Michael Grais and Mark Victor

Stars – Craig T Nelson, JoBeth Williams, Beatrice Straight, Dominique Dunne, Oliver Robins, Heather O’Rourke, Michael McManus and Virginia Kiser.

Run Time – 114 minutes

Budget – $10.7 million estimated

Tagline – They’re Here

IMDB.com Link

Trivia – Heather O’Rourke, who played the little girl Carol-Anne, and Dominique Dunne, who played the teenage daughter, are buried in the same cemetery: Westwood Memorial Park in Los Angeles. Dunne was strangled into brain-death by her boyfriend in 1982, the year of the film’s release. Six years later, O’Rourke died of intestinal stenosis.

Trivia – During all the horrors that proceeded while filming Poltergeist (1982), only one scene really scared Heather O’Rourke: that in which she had to hold onto the headboard, while a wind machine blew toys into the closet behind her. She fell apart; Steven Spielberg stopped everything, took her in his arms, and said that she would not have to do that scene again.

poltergeist_pic4

Whenever I think of horror films I think The Exorcist, Halloween, Friday the 13th, Hellraiser, Nightmare on Elm Street and Poltergeist although this film doesn’t seem to receive as much credit as other horror movies of it’s time. Sure it’s well thought of but it could do with a bit more love, in my opinion it’s a great haunting film with effects that are and were well ahead of it’s time.

Like all haunting and ghosty films the premise is simple but also pretty unique. Carol Anne starts to worry her family when she watches the static stations on TV and talks to the TV, as I’m sure that’d upset any one. After a while things in the house start to move around on their own and it’s a fun experience for the family.

zelda-rubinstein-in-poltergeist-1982-movie

However, as is the key to a great haunting film these things build up until they’re out of control. The furniture moves into strange positions within the blink of an eye but everything culminates with Carol Anne the youngest daughter being snatched during the night and taken to another level of existence through a portal in her closet.

These creatures really mean business and the family end up inviting in a crew to investigate the hauntings without even contacting the police for fear of not being taken seriously. All Diane and Steve Freeling want to do is get their daughter back and keep their other kids safe. This pushes them to hire a medium to help them at the request of the team investigating the hauntings.

poltergeist1982b

The medium performs an exorcism on the house she is a character that has been mocked in many films since most notable is probably Ace Ventura’s this house is clear scene. The thing this film does well is the reveal of why the poltergeist is haunting this family and this house. I didn’t really see it coming at all, it all leads to a rescue attempt of Carol Anne and an all out action scene that reveals what’s going on.

poltergeist1982_sd1_1050_591_81_s_c1

The Good

  • Solid acting all round.
  • As I mentioned key to any haunting film is the build of ghostly events and this does that expertly.
  • The story really expands well as the film goes on and the hauntings make perfect sense.
  • The effects! I didn’t remember how many there were in this film and they still look pretty good today. They must have seemed amazing in the early 80’s.
  • The film creates a perfect family atmosphere among with kids and parents. Sometimes in films these things feel forced but with the Freeling family it’s easy to view them as a real family from petty arguments to the Father falling asleep watching sports, it all feels real.
  • The tree scene is awesome.
  • I loved the introduction of the ghost hunter type team, their reactions to what they end up seeing compared to what they thought was funny.
  • The medium/psychic that comes to help them.

Although this film isn’t perfect there’s not really anything bad I can think of at all, the pacing is great, the acting, the effects, the haunting events are all spot on. As I said it’s not total perfection but it is one pretty good fecking film, every horror fan should see this.

Overall Rating – 9/10

11 thoughts on “My Life in Horror 1982 Part 1 – Poltergeist

  1. Great post.I love Poltergeist and I agree that it hasn’t been shown the respect that it deserves.It has been largely forgotten when it comes to listing the greatest horror movies etc…I think that it is creepy and brilliant and it is one of my all time favourites!!!

    Like

  2. Ah, I love this film. Such good memories from my early teens. I just wanted to hug Carol-Anne! And the effects just made it so much freakier! The only thing scarier than this movie was the curse that supposedly still haunts this film.
    By the way, I think we can all agree the remake that came out a few years ago was awful.

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Life in Horror 1982 Part Two – Swamp Thing | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

  4. Pingback: My Life in Horror 1984 – A Nightmare on Elm Street | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

  5. Pingback: My Life in Horror 1984 – Firestarter | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

  6. Pingback: My Life in Horror 1985 – Demons | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

  7. Pingback: My Life in Horror 1986 – Little Shop of Horrors | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

  8. Pingback: My Life In Horror 1986 – The Fly | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

  9. Pingback: My Life in Horror 1987 – Hellraiser | AcidBurnsHorrorshow

Leave a Reply

